the obligatory birthday list.

Every year, I write a blog about all the truly ridiculous and absurd things I’d like for my birthday. It’s always a joke, believe me, but it’s a lot of fun to write (and sometimes I get a few of the gifts too, which is a nice surprise!)

I’ve been thinking on this year’s list for quite a while. What should I ask for? World peace? A tiara (since I really have always wanted to be a queen)? A lifetime supply of Organix brazilian keratin shampoo and conditioner (because once you go to the nice stuff, you can’t ever switch back to the cheap stuff)? My very own llama?

Unfortunately, none of these items made the strict cuts for this year’s list – but here are a few things that did:

  • An avocado tree. My boss used to have a neighbor who had one of these. I’m serious. Do you know how this would change my life? I could have guacamole every single day. Now, this neighbor did live in Miami, so it’s doubtful that an avocado tree would even grow in Birmingham’s climate, which I am well aware of…but really, can you imagine being able to walk outside, pick an avocado, and eat it, just like an apple? I can’t. unless you bought me an avocado tree and changed the climate of Birmingham, which would make all of my dreams come true.
  • Words. I like words, y’all. I mean, I really do. So, the best way to give someone the gift of words is to give them used books or an amazon.com giftcard. Which particular books, you ask? Well, there are so many – but, for starters: The Little Way of Ruthie Leming by Rob Dreher, When Life and Beliefs Collide by Carolyn Custis James, Walking with God through Pain and Suffering by Tim Keller, the new book on Lila by Marilynne Robinson (don’t worry, pre-ordered birthday gifts are accepted and appreciated, Angry Conversations with God by Susan Isaacs and The Hole in our Holiness by Kevin Deyoung. Like I said…I like words
  • A personal service to put my clothes away. I like to wash them. I like to fold them. I hate to put them away. But, I have to…because I have this weird touch of OCD regarding anything being out of place.
  • Floo powder. No one’s ever come through with my dream of being taught to apparate (much to my dismay). I hate to drive, but I have all these friends and loved ones who live so far away. So, floo powder would be the second-best alternative to the ability to apparate. Unless I used it and ended up somewhere like Knockturn Alley…yikes.
  • Said floo powder to visit football games in Columbia. Hopefully I’ll get to see my Gamecocks play Auburn this fall at Auburn, but it’s not enough. Partially because I dislike Auburn so much. And partially because I miss Williams-Brice. Instead of the floo powder or tickets for every game, I’ll settle for tickets for the first game. ‘cause I already committed to going to it, with my friend Marcus. We’d like two tickets, if you have them. Nice ones would be good. I’ve always wanted to watch the game in one of those fancy air-conditioned boxes after being on the field for kick-off. I mean, that’s not too much to ask, right?
  • An old mirror. I’ve collected some new (to me) furniture over the last year and changed out a few things in my room, but I’d really like an old-looking new (or old!) mirror. It would fit with the rest of our house perfectly (as in, it would look old, since the rest of our house is old. We put the “age” in vintage around here, and I love it). I like wood. I like old looking wood.
  • For my car to get magically repaired overnight without the assistance of insurance or the hassle of working with someone else’s insurance company, or having to drive a rental car. If you can make this happen, you’re probably my new best friend. #stressful
  • New art. I have several new art pieces in my room (one that I made, one that a friend made, and another given to me as a gift) and I need one more to change out everything completely. I like prints, and calligraphy (and you, if you’re reading this…and I know you….otherwise, that’s creepy). Some of my favorites include Psalm 16:5-11, Psalm 103, Lamentations 3:21-24, and Romans 8 (ALL OF IT). but, I like some hymns too (“Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing” is a favorite, along with “Great is Thy Faithfulness”). And, I just like art in general (let’s be honest).
  • Doughnuts that have no carbs or sugar or fake sugar. Totally do-able, right?
  • To visit Harry Potter world. It’s my dream come true. I’ve been waiting way too long for my owl to come.
  • Seasons 3 and 4 of Parenthood. I’ve created a monster by watching this show. It’s just. so. good.
  • A candle in my favorite scent from bath and body works. It’s called Caribbean salsa. Also, it smells like gummy bears.  Don’t let the name deceive you – buy one and give it to me, and I’ll show you.
  • Visits from Columbia friends. You all know who you are.
  • Music. I love music too. Probably because of the combination of instruments and words. I really do love words. Anyways, here are some artists I’ve been greatly appreciating lately, if you’d like to donate a CD or iTunes giftcard to the cause of bringing Amy joy in musical form: JJ Heller, Jenny & Tyler, The Farewell Drifters, the new Ellie Holcomb CD, any mix CD that you think I would enjoy, Coldplay’s “Viva la Vida” (because I lost it so long ago…devastating,  I know)…and also the new Needtobreathe album (again, preoders are accepted and appreciated).
  • An armband that would fit my iPhone 5 (and it’s very large and clunky Otterbox) for when I run.
  • For summer not to come in Birmingham. Today was a small taste of humidity. While I didn’t love Snowpocalypse 2014, I’ll take the cold over ridiculous heat, please.

Thanks for appeasing me with this silly birthday list. Most of these things are not serious. No gifts are needed for my day of birth. Mostly, what I’d like to do is celebrate another year of life. Twenty-six was good and right and…hard. My. What a year. Life and death and change and good things and better things and crushed dreams and some regrets and trusting and knowing that that the Lord works all things together for his glory, even in the midst of not knowing what’s going to happen. Man. What a year. So let’s celebrate that he was faithful. And that there’s more to come.

And maybe, let’s eat some guacamole too.

Leave a Reply

