seminary.

i’m working on an exegesis paper on Micah 7:18-20 right now.  which means that, basically, i’m doing everything BUT doing the appropriate research for my paper.  how…normal.  i’m four pages in, eight to go–which is much more difficult than being four pages in, fifteen to go.  brevity isn’t my strong suit (and most people who receive my text messages know this, unfortunately…)

i’m in my second-to-last semester at Beeson; i only have three classes in the spring (one in January term, and two in the actual spring semester), and then i’ll be a “Master of Divinity.”  whatever that means.  what does that even mean? who knows?

the point of this blog isn’t to talk about getting my mdiv, or about my paper, or about my poor use of time while trying to write–but more to talk about my entire seminary experience, as a whole.

it’s been good.

i know, there are a lot of other words to use to describe it.  in many ways, i can’t put my beeson experience into words.  yes, difficult and painful and excruciating papers and tests.  yes, a lot of reading.  yes, i’m stressed out sometimes (a lot of times!) from all the work.  yes, i get tired of not being able to read what i want to read, and study what i want to study.  true, i often wonder if i’ll use my mdiv professionally in the work world.

but.  the way i think, the way i write, the way i pray, the way i understand Scripture and the gospel and God’s plan for the nations?  totally influenced by beeson.  i’m not putting professors or classmates or academia on a pedestal, but i am saying that my time at beeson has been so formative for my own spiritual life, for how i believe, worship, and trust my maker.

and there’s something beautiful about gathering every week in a worship service, and singing hymns, and responding together in readings, and breaking bread…with people who are different.  from different denominational backgrounds, different parts of the country, different traditions.  it’s beautiful that we can sit together at the table and discuss difficult issues and laugh and argue and ask about each others’ families; whether it’s sharing a popsicle or a meal or just a piece of advice about a class, the fellowship i’ve experienced in seminary has been unlike any other.  these people are more than my classmates.  they are my friends.  in some tangible ways, they are my family.  they’ve left home, and most of what they have, to pursue theological education and their calling.

i’m not even sure if most of this post makes sense.  mostly, what i want to say, and convey, and to remember–even on days when i have difficult papers to write, and research that, well, i don’t want to do at all–is that the Lord is good, and my being at beeson is just one reminder of this.

Leave a Reply

