let me be singing.

“whatever may pass, and whatever lies before me–let me be singing when the evening comes.

bless the Lord, oh my soul, oh my soul–worship his holy name.

sing like never before, oh my soul–I’ll worship your holy name.”

in whatever may pass.  in whatever lies ahead.  in all things, give thanks, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus. 

to give thanks in the goodness. to give thanks in the sadness. to give thanks when i seem to know what is ahead–and to give thanks as i peer into the unknown and try to wrap my fingers around what is hidden and is yet to come. 

yet there’s such encouragement in the reminder that these days have been written.  that before i took my first breath, the Father had written each moment, for eternity.  that in his hands are all things. that he holds all things together. that he makes all things new–even those which seem irreparable. 

i’m so glad that i don’t have to trust in my feelings, or in my heart, or even in my will.  i’m so thankful that i trust in someone who is much greater and much stronger than i am, someone who has everything figured out, someone who is in all authority over the heavens and the earth.  

the real test, in the meantime, is constantly reminding myself what it means to worship, to wait, to trust, to hope–in the midst of whatever may pass, and whatever lies ahead. 

help me to sing like never before. help me to trust, with my heart abandoned free and captivated only by my sovereign father.  

“let me be singing when the evening comes.”

One response to “let me be singing.

Leave a Reply

