there’s a hole in my pocket.

Way down, in New York town
Thinking about the way she loved me
There’s a hole in my pocket
That’s about her size
But I think everything
Is gonna be alright
Yes I hope everything
Is gonna be alright

The smiling face, straight in LA
The gifts are found at the bar
But I wish my car
Could drive to her tonight
Then I’d know everything
Is gonna be alright
Yes then I’d know
It’ll be alright

The rain in New Orleans, forgot to end
But the mouths of the people are dry
And we watch and wait
And do nothing but sigh
And hope everything
Is gonna turn alright
But I don’t know
If it’ll be alright

But I look at you, warm in your dream
While your mobile dances above
And I think to myself
It’s a beautiful night
And I know everything
Is gonna be alright
Yes now I know
It’ll be alright

most days, i miss who i used to be–a gamecock. a summer missionary. bcm president. a tutor. jane’s neighbor. a resident of forest acres. i even miss being an honors college student and a religious studies major.

most days, i have to remind myself that this is the place and the purpose and the time for me. here. in birmingham.

so these days, i’m going to be thankful for those experiences–as a BCMer, a gamecock, a mcnair scholar, a forest acres-er–and what they taught me…

because now? now i’m a beeson student. i’m the girl who sits by connie and haylee, and eats tuesday chapel lunch in front of becca and josh hays. i’m the bubble-blower and diaper-changer, who gives eskimo kisses to her kiddos. and i’m honorary aunt to the cutest baby boy in the entire world. and i’m pretty sure that, when i leave birmingham after i graduate in a few years, i’m going to miss these roles too.

but, now i know it’ll be all right.

Leave a Reply

