how great Your affections are for me.

He is jealous for me, loves like a hurricane–i am a tree


bending beneath the weight of his wind and mercy

lately i’ve been reading a lot of reformers. and i’ve been thinking a lot about the cross. being in seminary forces you think a lot about the cross, i guess. i used to be able to compartmentalize it, and put it in my little easter box, because the christmas story is a lot prettier and the healing stories are a lot happier. but when it comes down to it, the cross is at the heart of everything. it was at the heart of martin luther’s theology. and it’s at the heart of living.

it’s only through the cross that i find forgiveness–and believe me, i’m wretched. it’s only through this atonement that i find peace–and believe me, i’m an anxious person. and it’s through the cross that i’m reminded just how He loves us.  and that reminder–it’s enough to motivate me to get off my behind and do something with my life, and stop living in yesterday and dreaming about tomorrow, because…

we are His portion and He is our prize,

drawn to redemption by the grace in His eyes

if grace is an ocean–we’re all sinking.

so heaven meets earth like a sloppy wet kiss,

and my heart turns violently inside of my chest


i don’t have time to maintain these regrets

when i think about the way that He loves us.

Leave a Reply

